Call for Nominations for the McCarthy Award

Author: Bryant Crubaugh

The Center for the Study of Social Movements at the University of Notre Dame invites nominations for the 2014 John D. McCarthy Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Scholarship of Social Movements and Collective Behavior. The award honors scholars who have made “outstanding contributions to the scholarly literature concerned with social movements, protest, collective violence, riots, and other kinds of collective behavior over the course of her or his career. The recipient will be a person who has made major contributions not only through her or his own research, but also through teaching and mentoring other, more junior, scholars as they have developed their own research and scholarly identities.”

The award recipient will receive the award in the spring of 2014 in a ceremony held at the University of Notre Dame in conjunction with the Center’s fifth Young Scholars in Social Movements Conference. In addition to attending the award ceremony and banquet, the selected recipient will deliver the closing keynote lecture for the conference and have the opportunity to consult with faculty and graduate students about their ongoing research projects.

Previous Winners of the McCarthy Award:

  • 2007 John McCarthy (Inaugural Award)
  • 2008 Verta Taylor
  • 2009 Mayer Zald
  • 2010 Doug McAdam
  • 2011 William Gamson
  • 2012 Pamela Oliver
  • 2013 David Snow

Please send the names of nominees, along with a brief statement supporting the nomination, no later than January 15, 2014 to Rory McVeigh, McCarthy Award Committee Chair, (email nominations strongly preferred).