2019 Mccarthy Award Winner

Author: Paige Ambord

The Center for the Study of Social Movements at the University of Notre Dame is very pleased to announce that the winner of the 2019 John D. McCarthy Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Scholarship of Social Movements and Collective Behavior is Suzanne Staggenborg of the University of Pittsburgh.  The award not only recognizes Suzanne’s extraordinary achievements in research, but also the role that she has played in mentoring successive generations of scholars. 

Suzanne’s groundbreaking work, published in numerous books and countless articles, has shaped our thinking about activist causes, such as gender equality, abortion rights, and protecting the environment.  Yet her work has also consistently generated foundational insights about organizational and protest dynamics more generally, highlighting processes related to coalitions formation, transnational activism, and drawing on central insights in the social movement field--transforming them in ways that have set the agenda for those who wish to understand twenty-first century activism.

This year’s award ceremony will take place on May 4, 2019 on the Notre Dame campus.  Suzanne will be giving a public lecture prior to the award banquet.  At the banquet, several of her friends, colleagues and former students will be on hand to offer reflections on her work and her influence on the field. 

In conjunction with the presentation of the McCarthy Award, the Center for the Study of Social Movements will also be hosting the tenth annual Young Scholars in Social Movements Conference on May 3, 2019.  Advanced graduate students and recently minted PhD’s will be invited to present their work and receive feedback from the McCarthy Award winner and a distinguished panel of senior scholars in the field.  A call for nominations for the Young Scholars Conference will be issued in a separate announcement.

We hope that many of you will mark your calendars and plan to join us for these events.  Please be on the lookout for more information in the coming months—including instructions on how to apply for the Young Scholars Conference.  We will distribute the news on the CBSM listserv and also post the news on our Center’s website http://nd.edu/~cssm/


Rory McVeigh

Director, Center for the Study of Social Movements

The Nancy Reeves Dreux Professor of Sociology

4048 Jenkins/Nanovic Hall

University of Notre Dame

Notre Dame, IN  46556


(574) 631-0386